Due to the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic, all consultations will be by telephone for your safety. We remain open remotely to help employees, executives, physicians and other professionals throughout this crisis. To reach us, please use our contact form.For information about your employee rights during the coronavirus pandemic, see our Coronavirus Information below.

Articles Quoting Donna Ballman

Bloomberg BNA Employment Discovery Evolves as Rules and Technology Change 01/27/16 http://www.bna.com/employment-discovery-evolves-n57982066677/

INC. The Problem With Dog-Friendly Offices 01/27/16 http://www.inc.com/christine-lagorio/dog-friendly-office-beware.html

CheatSheet 5 Things to Do When Your Ex-Boss Gives a Bad Reference 01/15/16 http://www.cheatsheet.com/money-career/5-things-to-do-when-your-ex-boss-gives-a-bad-reference.html/?a=viewall

WFSU Former Uber Driver Pursuing Unemployment Case 12/07/15 http://news.wfsu.org/post/former-uber-driver-pursuing-unemployment-case

Human Resources Newsletter Are Your Contractors Actually Employees? DOL Says Probably Yes 12/2/15 https://www.thegrowthcompany.com/files/8814/4475/7413/October_November_2015_TGC_Newsletter.pdf

Above The Law Law Firm Suddenly Shuts Down, Leaving Nearly 100 Jobless 11/25/16 http://abovethelaw.com/2015/11/law-firm-suddenly-shuts-down-leaving-nearly-100-jobless/

Business News Daily Got Fired? Here's What You Should Do Next 09/18/15 http://www.businessnewsdaily.com/8393-fired-next-steps.html

Hennig Ruiz Law Firm 21 Employment Law Twitter Accounts Every Employee Should Follow 09/18/15 http://employmentattorneyla.com/21-employment-law-twitter-accounts-every-employee-should-follow-infographic/

James Toolbox Employment Lawyer Writes Herself into National Spotlight 08/12/15 http://jamestoolbox.com/employment-lawyer-writes-herself-into-national-spotlight/

Hennig Ruiz Law Firm 10 Employment Law Blogs to Help You Understand Your Rights 08/12/15 http://employmentattorneyla.com/10-employment-law-blogs-to-help-you-understand-your-rights/

AARP 11 Things That Affect Unemployment Eligibility 07/31/15 http://www.aarp.org/work/job-hunting/info-2015/unemployment-benefits-eligibility.html

Ask a Manager my new office is full of dogs — and I’m allergic 07/29/15 http://www.askamanager.org/2015/07/my-new-office-is-full-of-dogs-and-im-allergic.html

Huffington Post Tell Your Co-Workers How Much You Make! 07/23/15 http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/talking-about-salary_us_55b008b2e4b0a9b948539bab?lvbfn7b9=

Justpedia Top Employment/Labor Attorneys to Follow on Twitter http://www.justipedia.com/2/2593/lawyers/top-employmentlabor-attorneys-to-follow-on-twitter

Corporate Counsel How Mobile Tech Is Complicating Nonexempt Employee Rules http://www.corpcounsel.com/top-stories/id=1202727590216/How-Mobile-Tech-Is-Complicating-Nonexempt-Employee-

Madam Noire Goodbye, Farewell! How to Make the Perfect Exit When You Quit http://madamenoire.com/535417/goodbye-farewell-how-to-make-the-perfect-exit-when-you-quit/

Wellesley Underground Wellesley Writes it: An Interview With Donna Ballman http://wellesleyunderground.com/post/119722243897/wellesley-writes-it-an-interview-with-donna

Win Win HR Employment Attorneys React to Supreme Court Decision in Mach Mining v. EEOC http://winwinhr.com/employment-attorneys-react-to-supreme-court-decision-in-mach-mining-v-eeoc/

Inquisitr Doctor Tells Off Patient’s Boss In Sick Note, Goes Viral Thanks To Reddit http://www.inquisitr.com/1978768/doctor-tells-off-patients-boss-in-sick-note-goes-viral-thanks-to-reddit-video/

Payscale.com Horrible Company Policy Alert: Some Employers Require Doctor's Notes for Sick Days April 2015 https://www.payscale.com/career-news/2015/04/horrible-company-policy-alert-some-employers-require-doctors-notes-for-sick-days

Evil HR Lady Forced to resign for refusing to take a break 4 minutes into the shift March 2015 http://evilhrlady.org/2015/03/forced-to-resign-for-refusing-to-take-a-break-4-minutes-into-the-shift.html

National Oil & Lube News We have to notify our employer about any clubs or organizations we belong to, including churches February 2015 http://www.askamanager.org/2015/02/my-employer-wants-to-know-about-any-clubs-or-organizations-we-belong-to-including-churches.html

Daily Business Review Same-Sex Marriages Bring Benefits Review at Work http://www.dailybusinessreview.com/id=1202714008121/SameSex-Marriages-Bring-Benefits-Review-at-Work?mcode=1202615581416&slreturn=20150006100901

HR Solutions How to Lay People Off with Dignity http://hrsolutions.net/how-to-lay-people-off-with-dignity/#.VJgmi14CA

U. S. News & World Report When Is It OK to Quit Your Job Without Another Lined Up? 11/25/14 http://money.usnews.com/money/blogs/outside-voices-careers/2014/11/25/when-is-it-ok-to-quit-your-job-without-another-lined-up

CBS News When inappropriate texts aren’t harassment http://www.cbsnews.com/news/when-inappropriate-text-messages-arent-harassment/

U. S. News & World Report The Art of Employee Poaching: A Guide to Luring Candidates for Your Position 8/28/14 http://money.usnews.com/money/careers/articles/2014/08/28/the-art-of-employee-poaching-a-guide-to-luring-candidates-for-your-position

Arizona Central Six reasons to kiss a union member 8/31/14 http://www.azcentral.com/story/ejmontini/2014/08/31/labor-day-unions-mother-jones-benefits-paid-vacation-holidays/14813505/

CNBC Screening job candidates online? Know the laws. http://www.cnbc.com/id/101880333

Lexology What do American Apparel and the NBA have in common? Don’t ask Donald Sterling or Dov Charney http://www.lexology.com/library/detail.aspx?g=a84f1435-f6f5-422b-8788-5244f4c21108

Marketwatch.com What has (and hasn’t) changed since the Anita Hill case 3/27/14 http://www.marketwatch.com/story/what-has-and-hasnt-changed-since-the-anita-hill-case-2014-03-27

Inc. Your Former Employees Want a Reference. Here Is What Your Attorney Thinks About That http://www.inc.com/suzanne-lucas/your-former-employees-want-a-reference-here-is-what-your-attorney-thinks-about-t.html

Ask A Manager Can my employer install spyware on my personal computer I use for work? August 2014 http://www.askamanager.org/2014/08/can-my-employer-install-spyware-on-my-personal-computer-i-use-for-work.html

Sun-Sentinel Judge dealing with alcoholism asks for pay during suspension 5/29/14 http://articles.sun-sentinel.com/2014-05-29/news/fl-judges-in-trouble-folo-20140529_1_alcoholism-judge-pollack-misdemeanor-drug-court

AOL Jobs Obama Moves to Broaden Overtime Rights 3/13/14 http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2014/03/13/obama-moves-to-broaden-overtime-rights/?a_dgi=aolshare_twitter

AccuWeather.com: Unrelenting Winter Forces Difficult Snow Day Decisions for Employees, Parents http://www.accuweather.com/en/weather-news/work-snow-day/23270472

CBS News: Can your boss tell you who to eat lunch with? http://www.cbsnews.com/news/can-your-boss-tell-you-who-to-eat-lunch-with/

Daily Business Review: Justice Watch: Labor, Employment Attorneys Face Brave New World In 2014 http://www.dailybusinessreview.com/home/id=1202637688837/Justice%20Watch%20Labor%20Employment%20Attorneys%20Face%20Brave%20New%20World%20In%202014?mcode=1202617073880&curindex=1&slreturn=20140212001012

U.S. News & World Report: 8 Sensitive Issues an Interviewer Could But Shouldn't Ask About

AOL Jobs: Muslim Man Awarded $66,000 For Dismissal Over Beard Conflict http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2013/10/09/muslim-beard-court-award/

AOL Jobs: Nude Model Claims She Was Fired Because Of Her Work http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2013/09/18/fired-fetish-model/

Lawyers.com: Bank of America Fined $2.2M for Racial Discrimination http://blogs.lawyers.com/2013/10/bank-of-america-racial-discrimination/

HR Compliance Expert: Think Twice About Using ‘Gotchas’ Against Employees on FMLA Leave http://hr.complianceexpert.com/hr-intelligence/think-twice-about-using-gotchas-against-employees-on-fmla-leave-1.365601?qr=1

This Chair Rocks: Yo, Is This Ageist? http://yoisthisageist.com/post/59362044591/why-are-prospective-employers-allowed-to-ask-on-a-job

AOL Jobs: Top Lacoste Salesman Posts Paycheck On Instagram, Gets Fired - Careers Articles http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2013/08/07/top-lacoste-salesman-proudly-shows-paycheck-online-gets-fired/?icid=maing-grid7%7Chtmlws-main-bb%7Cdl12%7Csec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D354677

The American Lawyer: Affordable Care Act Opens New Arena For Law Firms http://www.americanlawyer.com/id=1202610659147/thepage=6

Inc.: When Do I Have to Start Paying My Hourly Employees? http://www.inc.com/suzanne-lucas/when-do-i-have-to-start-paying-my-hourly-employees.html

AARP: What to Do After You've Lost Your Job http://www.aarp.org/work/on-the-job/info-06-2013/what-to-do-after-losing-job.html

AOL Jobs: Michigan Hospital Allegedly Bars Black Nurse From Touching White Patient http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2013/07/26/black-nurse-touch-white-patient-discrimination/

Indianapolis Business Journal: String of EEOC complaints dogs WTHR

Ask a Manager: My company is threatening to strand me out of town if I won’t work an extra day http://www.askamanager.org/2013/07/my-company-is-threatening-to-strand-me-out-of-town.html

The Gainesville Sun: Former University of Florida director, Dana Peterson, alleges in suit he was denied position because he's white http://www.gainesville.com/article/20130614/ARTICLES/130619783

Forbes: How To Quit Your Job The Right Way http://www.forbes.com/sites/85broads/2013/05/30/how-to-quit-your-job-the-right-way/

Lawyers.com: In the Job Market, It Ain’t Easy Being Teen http://blogs.lawyers.com/2013/06/job-market-tips-for-teens/

Lawyers.com: Resort Company Sued for Firing Older Workers http://blogs.lawyers.com/2013/05/resorts-sued-for-firing-older-workers/

Wall Street Journal: Age discrimination: Boomers are guilty, too http://www.marketwatch.com/story/age-discrimination-boomers-are-guilty-too-2013-05-09

Psych Central: The Difference Between Hiring Therapists as 1099 Vs. W-2 Part 1 http://blogs.psychcentral.com/private-practice/2013/03/the-difference-between-hiring-therapists-as-1099-vs-w-2-part-1/

Ebyline Biz: Is news reporting creative? No, says U.S. government

AOL Jobs: Bob Jones University Administrator Fired For Soliciting Prostitute 22 Years Ago http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2013/03/26/bob-jones-university-administrator-suspended-for-soliciting-pros/

AOL Jobs: Mom Fired For Selling Girl Scout Cookies At Work http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2013/03/22/tracy-lewis-girl-scout-cookies-fire/

Career Intelligence: How To Work With People You Don’t Like http://www.career-intelligence.com/management/How-to-work-with-people-you-dont-like.asp

Zip Recruiter: How To Handle Illegal Job Interview And Application Questions http://blog.ziprecruiter.com/2013/02/27/illegal-job-interview-questions-how-to-handle/

Memeburn.com: Who Owns Your Social Media And Community When You Resign? http://memeburn.com/2013/02/who-owns-your-social-media-account-and-community-when-you-resign/

Lawyers.com: Male Caregivers Suffer Discrimination In The Workplace http://blogs.lawyers.com/2013/02/male-caregivers-workplace-discrimination/?cid=emm%3A103

The Times Of India: Obama’s Appointments Unconstitutional, Court Rules

Ask A Manager: Asking About Mental Illness In A Job Interview: http://www.askamanager.org/2013/01/asking-about-mental-health-in-an-interview.html

Miami Herald: What You Don’t Know About Workplace Rules Could Cost You Your Job 

AOL Jobs: Hospital Worker Fired For Refusing Flu Shot Cites Veganism: http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2013/01/10/sakile-chenzira-fired-refusing-flu-vaccine-shot-cincinnati-hospital-vegan/

The Glass Hammer: No More Ms. Perfect http://www.theglasshammer.com/news/2013/01/08/no-more-ms-perfect/

Lawdragon: Lawyer Limelight – Donna Ballman Lawdragon: http://www.lawdragon.com/lawyer-limelights/donna-ballman/

CBS: My Boss Says I Smell Bad http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505125_162-57559716/my-boss-says-i-smell-bad/

IT Business Edge: Do We Discriminate Against Fat People Because We Fear They’re Contagious? http://www.itbusinessedge.com/blogs/from-under-the-rug/do-we-discriminate-against-fat-people-because-we-fear-theyre-contagious.html 

ABA Journal: ABA Blawg 100 http://www.abajournal.com/blawg100/

HR Examiner: Review of Stand Up For Yourself Without Getting Fired http://hrexaminer.com/stand-up-for-yourself-without-getting-fired/

USA Book News: 2012 USA Best Book Awards

Ask A Manager: My Employer Is Docking Everyone One Day Of Pay http://www.askamanager.org/2012/11/my-employer-is-docking-everyone-one-day-of-pay.html

CBS: Can Your Boss Tell You Who To Vote For? http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-500395_162-57545008/can-your-boss-tell-you-who-to-vote-for/

Midwest Book Review: Review of Stand Up For Yourself Without Getting Fired http://www.midwestbookreview.com/bw/oct_12.htm

The Dallas Morning News: Review of Stand Up For Yourself Without Getting Fired (login required) http://www.dallasnews.com/business/headlines/20121013-business-book-reviews-its-your-business-and-stand-up-for-yourself-without-getting-fired.ece

Blog Business World: Review of Stand Up For Yourself Without Getting Fired

Career Bliss: Human Resources – Advocate or Enemy? http://www.careerbliss.com/advice/human-resources-advocate-or-enemy/

CBS: Review of Stand Up For Yourself Without Getting Fired: http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505125_162-57506250/stand-up-for-yourself-without-getting-fired/

ELocal Lawyers: Choosing A Lawyer By Specialty: http://www.elocallawyers.com/content/legal-expert-network/choosing-lawyer-based-specialty-3223

Daily Business Review: Justice Watch: Employees Who Avoid Wellness Steps May Pay More For Health Care (subscription required) http://www.dailybusinessreview.com/PubArticleDBR.jsp?id=1202569036781&Justice_Watch_Employees_who_avoid_wellness_steps_may_pay_more_for_health_care&slreturn=20120728171850

GMSHRM 2012 Legal Update: http://www.gmshrm.org/article.html?aid=880

JD Supra: Major League Manager Nowak Sues Team After Firing

HR Examiner: Top 25 Influencers in Employment Law

USA Today: Honesty On Crime Record Is Best Policy http://www.usatoday.com/USCP/PNI/Business/2012-05-30-PNI0530biz-career-convictionsPNIBrd_ST_U.htm

TheWorkBuzz.com: How to Conduct a Job Search With A Criminal Record

Sarasota Herald-Tribune: Dismissed IntegraClick Executive Files Whistleblower Lawsuit: http://www.heraldtribune.com/article/20120503/ARTICLE/305039994

Business News Daily: Can You Really Be Fired For Being Too Hot? http://www.businessnewsdaily.com/2569-fired-hot.html

CBS: Do temporary workers have any rights? http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505125_162-57438913/do-temporary-workers-have-any-rights/

Lawyers and Settlements: When Is Bullying and Harassment a Labor Law Violation? http://www.lawyersandsettlements.com/articles/california_labor_law/interview-california-labor-law-code-32-16867.html?opt=c&utm_expid=3607522-5.Uj6X3hD9S1KR79nt0Iy0tA.1&utm_referrer=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lawyersandsettlements.com%2Fblog%2Ftag%2Fattorney-donna-ballman#.Ux95Q852FxW